Two Hearts (for Kenji)

 

 

*I wrote this for Enclave’s #final poem.  Here is the premise:  “If the world were to end next week, what is the final poem you write, the final poem you give away generously, treacherously, genuinely, fearfully, necessarily, beautifully? That tomorrow it may very well all end, and we would know to bear the pain as the day rose and broke. That the present is undying yet death awaits us all. That words can still connect and touch, that we still know how to offer to others a piece of our soul. That space yet expands and we know when to keep breathing and when to stop. That poetry can yet be given and received, from one human being to another.

****

For so many years you were my oxygen
My breath
My conversational mate
You made me laugh

My heart inside your heart
My hand inside your hand

Before we knew each other we were lost
Two halves wandering
Steps searching
Traveling toward a place to call home

You found me
My arms were wreaths
My intentions were circles
Our laughter was a room filled with jewels

You spoiled me by listening to me
I spoiled you by laughing at your jokes

I hope I gave you enough
I did my best and that was all I had

You were/are/will be
My everything

Nothing will change
Nothing
When the world comes to an end

Leave a Reply

