The Cancer Journal #34

I haven’t been writing much here for a few reasons. One, I’m thoroughly exhausted, and two, I get tired of recounting bad news. So today I thought I’d write about what I like in my life…

I like that I got the news that the latest novel I’ve written is a finalist in the San Francisco Writers Conference contest for 2024. The winner will be announced in January, I believe. I don’t expect to win, would quite frankly be shocked as I rarely win contests but am good at being a finalist. I paid to go to the conference because I want to go sit at the table with the other finalists in the big hall and we’ll be introduced to the rest of the people at the conference – that’s the real reason I’m going. I only get to talk to one agent and have to pay extra for that, although there will be other agents wandering about. What I really need is a pitch conference where I have the opportunity to pitch my novel to several agents but I think the San Francisco conference will be fun and I like the big energy there – I’ve been twice before.

What else do I like? Well, during the past two days when I’ve walked Tiger I’ve put on Donna Summer’s extended version of Mc Arthur Park on my phone (it’s about 18 minutes long) and Tiger and I have been doing a power walk up and down the steep hills in Golden Gate Heights without stopping. It really tires him out – this is just part of our walk – we usually walk between two and four miles daily – and tires me out also. The weather here has been nice – we have Indian summer in SF – which means it’s in the high 60 or even 70s. These walks are when I solve a lot of my problems, or let go of them. Walking for me is therapy…

One more thing – what do I like? Well, I’ve been watching And Just Like That, the reboot of Sex and the City, and although it can nowhere compare to SATC, I’m enjoying it. Especially Charlotte and Harry. I only have five more episodes to go and am spacing them out because once it’s over, it’s over, and I can’t stand that!!!

Leave a comment